Skip To Main Content

Institute Awards 2023

Institute Awards 2023

At this year's Teacher Institute, under the banner of "Celebrating Excellence," we had the privilege of acknowledging the incredible achievements that make Blount County Schools shine. Our community is brimming with remarkable accomplishments, and during Institute, we took the time to highlight and honor a selection of these outstanding feats.

We proudly present the recipients of this year's awards:


Martha Espinoza, Elementary Rookie Teacher of the Year


 Hunter Armstrong, Secondary Rookie Teacher of the Year


Locust Fork Elementary School, Elementary ELA, Math, and Science Awards


Blountsville Elementary, Elementary Attendance Award


Cleveland High School, Secondary ELA and Attendance Awards


Locust Fork High School, Secondary Science Award


Locust Fork High School, Secondary Math Award


Appalachian School, Cohort Award, with 100% Graduation and CCRI Rates


Dr. Cynthia McCarty, Impact Award


Mr. Phillip Hazelrig, Impact Award


We extend our heartfelt congratulations to each of the award recipients and express our gratitude to every member of the Blount County Schools family for your continuous efforts in shaping a brighter future through education.  Thank you for being a vital part of Blount County Schools' journey toward excellence. Together, we celebrate achievements, set new goals, and continue to make a positive impact on the lives of our students.